Ypsilanti Citizen Education ]]>

Ypsilanti Schools accept transportation consolidation
By Adrienne Ziegler
Jun. 8, 2010   ·   3:07 p.m.

Connie Shelton, an East Middle School Teacher, speaks against the WISD transportation consolidation plan at Monday's special meeting of the Ypsilanti Board of Education. The board approved the motion to join the consolidation by a vote of 5 to 2.

"Shame on you" echoed through the audience Monday night after the Ypsilanti Public Schools Board of Education approved a plan to join a countywide consolidated...read more

Willow Run appoints new board member
By Adrienne Ziegler
Jun. 5, 2010   ·   8:16 a.m.

The Willow Run School Board looks on as Kristine Thomas, a district parent and previous board member, is sworn in as trustee on Thursday night. Thomas will take the position of Joi Jenson who resigned in early May.

The Willow Run School Board appointed a new, yet familiar trustee to the board of education during their regular meeting Thursday night.

Kristine Thomas, a Willow...read more

Willow Run approves county-wide transportation plan
By Adrienne Ziegler
May. 27, 2010   ·   2:09 p.m.

The Willow Run School District signed on to a countywide consolidated transportation plan at their regular board meeting last week.

The plan aims to save transportation...read more

Lincoln offers summer courses to area high-schoolers
By Mark Tower
May. 26, 2010   ·   7:49 p.m.

Students from Lincoln and other nearby districts are being invited to participate in Lincoln High School's Summer Academy this year, registration for which opened...read more

Willow Run terminates student services administrator
By Adrienne Ziegler
May. 26, 2010   ·   12:26 a.m.

Willow Run School Board President Sheri Washington said she didn't know if the district was going to press charges against former Student Services Administrator Laconda Hicks after the board fired Hicks during a special meeting Tuesday night.

The Willow Run Board of Education unanimously voted to terminate its contract with former Student Services Administrator Laconda Hicks Tuesday night during a special...read more

Nine Willow Run employees see last year


June 30 last day for several staff, including two principals

By Dan DuChene
Apr. 6, 2009    ·    1:54 a.m.

The Willow Run Board of Education unanimously approved six retirements, two terminations and one contact nonrenewal at its last meeting Thursday.

Among those whose last day with the district will be June 30 are principals Rosalind Coffey and Larry Gray; teachers Melissa Hunt, Dianne Lloyd, Rebecca Freeman, Bonnie Dornbos and Dietra James; as well as Antonio Jackson and Betsy Warner.

Coffey, who has been with Willow Run for 30 years, is retiring as the principal of Holmes Elementary after 30 years with the district. She said she plans to move to Nevada while she “still has some hair, teeth and sense.”

After the board approved her retirement, Coffey thanked the district for her time at Willow Run and said, “It’s been a beautiful journey.

“Know that I’m in the background cheering for you,” she said. “I believe against all odds, Willow Run will stand.”

Several board members publicly thanked Coffey for her time with the district. Trustee Clifford Smith even took the time to compliment her on the quality stationary used to draft her retirement letter.

“You’ve done your job marvelously,” Trustee Andy Blakita said. “I appreciate it.”

After nearly two years at Willow Run, Gray’s contract as the principal of the secondary complex will not be renewed for next year.

Gray was hired soon after Superintendant Doris Hope-Jackson began re-organizing the district’s administration after her selection by the board in May 2007. Gray was brought in to oversee the move to a secondary complex from a separate middle school and high school, which helped lower the number of district administrators and save costs.

High school teachers Hunt, Lloyd, Freeman, Dornbos all retired. Warner, a middle school teacher consultant, retired as well.

The retirees’ time at the district spanned from 12 years, with Freeman, to 31 years, with Warner.

“I would like to wish all of those educators well in their retirement,” Board President Claudette Braxton said after the retirements were approved Thursday.

James, a non-tenured teacher at Holmes Elementary, was terminated. Jackson, a para-educator, was terminated as well.

Coffey was the only district employee leaving this year present at the meeting.

Stay with the Citizen as details in the story develop.


© 2010 The Mojo News Group - Ypsilanti Citizen Home - About Ypsilanti Citizen - Contact Us - Advertising - Calendar - Archives - Terms of Use Citrus Stand Media Group Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional